Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner Mr Andrew Dyer retirement

Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner (AEIC), Mr Andrew Dyer, has advised the Minister for Climate Change and Energy, the Hon Chris Bowen MP, of his intention to retire from the position effective 31 March 2024.

Mr Dyer was first appointed National Wind Farm Commissioner in November 2015, and in March 2021 his role was expanded to address a broad range of energy infrastructure matters, then being appointed the Australian Energy Infrastructure Commissioner.

Across his many years of service as Commissioner, Mr Dyer has led efforts to promote best practices, information availability, and provide a central, trusted source for the dissemination of information. Mr Dyer has worked collaboratively with all levels of government, scientists, experts, industry and the community to address concerns and complaints from community members about energy infrastructure.

The rapid take up and investment in new renewable energy and transmission projects would not have been possible without Mr Dyer’s tireless efforts to ensure the concerns of communities and energy infrastructure proponents are properly considered.  

In 2023, Mr Dyer led the independent Community Engagement Review to advise all levels of Government on ways to improve community engagement on renewable energy infrastructure developments. Minister Bowen thanked Mr Dyer for leading and shaping this critical piece of work.  

The Albanese Government thanked Mr Dyer for his long-term commitment and contribution to solving and resolving issues for many community and industry stakeholders across a wide spectrum of issues.

An acting Commissioner will be appointed soon as an interim arrangement. A search process will be undertaken for the next Commissioner and the outcome will be announced in due course.