Joint media release: Appointments to the Clean Energy Finance Corporation Board

5 October 2022

Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher, Minister for Finance
The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Minister for Climate Change and Energy 

The Australian Government has appointed power industry expert Mr Tony Concannon to the Board of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC) and reappointed Ms Nicola Wakefield Evans, Ms Samantha Tough and Ms Andrea Slattery.

The CEFC provides debt and equity finance to clean energy projects in order to leverage private sector investment, facilitate a lower emissions economy and assist Australia’s transition to net zero emissions.

In August, the CEFC marked ten years of operation and recently exceeded lifetime investment commitments of $10 billion.

Mr Concannon will commence a five-year term on 5 October 2022 working alongside the reappointed members.

He will fill the vacancy left by the departure of Ms Leeanne Bond, who served on the Board for more than five years and brought invaluable insights thanks to her extensive engineering and corporate experience.

Minister for Finance Senator Katy Gallagher thanked Ms Bond for her service and congratulated Mr Concannon on his appointment.

“The CEFC has a crucial role to play supporting our clean energy future while at the same time delivering positive returns for Australian taxpayers.”

“I look forward to working with the Board to support the Albanese Government’s agenda to reduce emissions."

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Chris Bowen said the CEFC had a vital role to play in helping Australia to achieve its emissions reduction targets.

“With Australia’s 43 per cent and net zero emissions reduction targets now enshrined in legislation, this government is delivering long-term energy policies so business can invest with certainty,” Minister Bowen said.

“As a market investor, the CEFC accelerates opportunities through investments that support clean energy projects, including renewable energy generation, energy efficiency and other low emissions