Suzanne Thompson appointed to Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee

The Albanese Government has appointed Suzanne Thompson to the Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee (ERAC), the statutory body responsible for ensuring the integrity of Australia’s carbon crediting scheme.

Carbon credits are the ‘net’ in net-zero so it’s critical they have integrity.

The Independent Review of Australian Carbon Credit Units recommended reforming ERAC as the Carbon Abatement Integrity Committee, with adjusted functions and terms of reference including a full-time chair and First Nations member.

The appointment of Ms Thompson, a traditional custodian of the Iningai lands, is a significant step in implementing this recommendation.

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Chris Bowen said the Government is taking a range of measures to help bolster participation by First Nations peoples in Australia’s carbon market.

“Suzanne Thompson brings a wealth of experience and a respected voice from Indigenous communities to the Emissions Reduction Assurance Committee,” said Minister Bowen.

“Her experience in carbon markets and land management, coupled with a deep understanding of the economic, environmental and cultural needs of First Nations peoples, will be an asset to the committee.”

The appointment of Ms Thompson as First Nations member follows the appointment of Professor Karen Hussey, as full time ERAC Chair in October this year.

The appointment will help support market confidence in ACCUs and ensure the scheme continues to deliver real action that contributes to Australia’s emissions-reduction goals.

The ERAC will continue independently to consider and provide advice on the integrity of methods until the new Integrity Committee’s structure and functions are legislated.

Ms Thompson will continue as First Nations member of the Carbon Abatement Integrity Committee once established.

Suzanne Thompson:

Ms Thompson is the Director of the Indigenous Carbon Industry Network, a member of Landcare Australia’s First Nations Landcare Working Group and Chair of Australian Native Foods and Botanicals.

A proud Indigenous Australian and Queenslander, Ms Thompson founded the Yambangku Aboriginal Cultural Heritage and Tourism Development Aboriginal Corporation and advised the Central Western Queensland Ministerial Roundtable.